My first try at a Lithophane (Extreme Stress Test)

Gallery for images of work cut using PhotoVCarve
JJWMACHINECO
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Re-worked/Modified K2CNC KG-3925

My first try at a Lithophane (Extreme Stress Test)

Post by JJWMACHINECO »

I have been using Bobart ProX for about 5 years now for making picture engravings and I was so disappointed and frustrated with the time it took to generate the G-Code. :evil: After reading on this forum about other users of the PhotoVCarve software, I downloaded the demo. I could not believe how simple, fast and reliable this software really is. :D

I purchased it about 2 weeks ago and I really wanted to put it to an extreme test on a Lithophane. Since this is the first time I ever made one, I wanted to use a picture that had allot of detail with many different objects in the same picture so I chose an antique glass negative I had.

First I scanned the image and inverted it, then I edited it in my Photo software to remove any spots and damaged areas because it was so old. Then I trimmed the image size to fit the Corian that I had purchased. I roughed it out with a 1/8" Ball EM @ .090" depth. Then I cut it with a 1/32" Ball EM @ .095" depth. I finished it with a 1/64" Ball EM @ .100" depth, yes I said a .0156" Diameter Ball End Mill and this Lithophane is only 7-1/2" wide by 5" high and it had taken 34 hours machine time to complete.

Not only did I test the software to the extreme, I stress tested my CNC router and my Bosch Colt spindle to the max and everything passed with flying colors. The detail that I was able to achieve with the PhotoVCarve software was amazing and it was as clear and detailed as the original image. :D